When will Lionel Messi play in the 2024 Copa America? Group rivals and schedule for matches in Argentina

Argentina arrived not only as world champions at the 2024 Copa America, but also as champions of the last edition of this competition, won in 2021 on Brazilian soil.

Lionel Scaloni’s team, as a farewell to Angel Di Maria, will try to repeat the title won three years ago at the Maracana.

But the star attraction – as always – is probably Lionel Messi. Revered by many as the greatest player of his generation, Messi will compete on his new home ground as the Inter Miami star swaps club football for the quest for more international honours.

Here’s everything you need to know about Messi and Argentina in the Copa America 2024.

MORE: Copa America full fixture schedule and updated results for 2024

When will Lionel Messi play at the Copa America 2024? Schedule of Argentina matches

Group stage

Opponent Date Time (local) Place
Canada Thursday June 20 8:00 PM ET Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta
Chili Tuesday June 25 9:00 PM ET MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford
Peru Saturday June 29 8:00 PM ET Hard Rock Stadium, Miami

Argentina group in Copa America 2024

group A


Now that Argentina has progressed to the knockout stage group A (the first and second team of each group qualify), they play a quarter-final July 4 or 5 in Houston or Arlington; a possible semi-final July 9, in East Rutherford and the finale, Op 14th of July, in Miami where Messi plays his club football.

If they have to play for third place, it will be on July 13 in Charlotte.

MORE: Lionel Messi record at Copa America – matches played and titles won

Will Lionel Messi say goodbye to Argentina after the 2024 Copa America?

Messi, the best player in the world and for many the most outstanding in all of history, has achieved his great dream by winning the 2022 Qatar World Cup, the culmination of a journey that has included the title in the 2021 Copa America and the Finalissima included. against Italy shortly before the World Cup.

It seemed that, having won everything that a football player can achieve, he would at least quit the national team. But as he himself said, after so much suffering he chose to stay to enjoy the party, and he quickly guaranteed his presence at the 2024 Copa America.

Whether this is his last tournament on the big stage remains to be seen. That may depend on Argentina’s progress.

Argentina coach: Lionel Scaloni

From temporary replacement for Jorge Sampaoli to confirmed interim and then winner of everything a national coach could achieve: Scaloni has become a national hero in Argentina.

With no previous experience, he broke the curse of 28 years without titles for the Argentina senior national team and formed a team that played almost 40 matches without losing and won the 2022 World Cup.

Despite all that, he has a tense relationship with the president of the Argentine Football Association, Claudio Tapia, and so he is in charge of the 2026 World Cup, for which the Albiceleste being well positioned to qualify is not guaranteed.

However, he will at least make it to the Continental American event. An entire country asked for it.

MORE: Brazil vs Argentina rivalry at Copa America – head-to-head records and stats

Argentina’s record and history in the Copa America: titles won

The Argentina national team has won the Copa America 15 times, the country with the most titles, together with Uruguay. Below is their record in the tournament:

Year Host Result
1916 Argentina Second place
1917 Uruguay Second place
1919 Brazil Third place
1920 Chili Second place
1921 Argentina Winners
1922 Brazil Fourth place
1923 Uruguay Second place
1924 Uruguay Second place
1925 Argentina Winners
1926 Chili Second place
1927 Peru Winners
1929 Argentina Winners
1935 Peru Second place
1937 Argentina Winners
1941 Chili Winners
1942 Uruguay Second place
(1945 Chili Winners
1946 Argentina Winners
1947 Ecuador Winners
1955 Chili Winners
1956 Uruguay Third place
1957 Peru Winners
1959 Argentina Winners
1959 Ecuador Second place
1963 Bolivia Third place
1967 Uruguay Second place
1975 Several Group stage
1979 Several Group stage
1983 Several Group stage
1987 Argentina Fourth place
1989 Brazil Third place
1991 Chili Winners
1993 Ecuador Winners
1995 Uruguay Quarter final
1997 Bolivia Quarter final
1999 Paraguay Quarter final
2004 Peru Second place
2007 Venezuela Second place
2011 Argentina Quarter final
2015 Chili Second place
2016 USA Second place
2019 Brazil Third place
2021 Brazil Winners