Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 Super 8s: Everything you need to know about the next phase

The Cricketer explains everything you need to know about the Super 8 stage: format, odds, TV and streaming information and much, much more…

How did we get here?

As of June 2, 40 matches in five groups have produced eight qualifying tournaments. India, Australia, West Indies and South Africa topped their respective groups, while the United States, England, Afghanistan and Bangladesh joined them in second

The eight seeded teams for the Super 8s were determined by the ICC prior to the tournament. Seeded sides Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka all failed to make it to the Super 8s, so their seeds have been passed to the United States, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Who is in each Super 8 group?

As per the seeding, India, Australia, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are in Group 1, while South Africa, West Indies, England and USA occupy Group 2.

When does it start?

The Super 8s stage starts on June 20 – when the US plays South Africa – and the semi-finals will be held on June 26 and 27. The Barbados final is scheduled for June 29.

Where does it happen?

The remaining matches will be held exclusively in the Caribbean, between Antigua and Barbuda, St Lucia, Barbados, Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago.


India are favorites to win the tournament (Getty Images)

What is the Super 8 structure?

Each team plays the other three teams in their Super 8 group once in a round-robin, and the top two teams after those matches advance to the semi-finals, with all completed matches ending in a result, as super-overs are in operation. .

In a tiebreak in the Super 8s, the team with the most wins is placed in a higher position. The net run rate, the first tiebreaker in the group stage, will then be used to separate teams still on level terms.

If teams remain tied after that, the head-to-head record between the teams in the group will be taken into account.

And if the teams are still tied, the position will be determined based on their position in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings as of May 31, 2024.

The semi-final winners will then advance to the Barbados final.

Related: Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Match Schedule: Full Schedule, Match List

Who are the favorites?

Tournament favorites India have remained so throughout the group stage and are now 7/4 to win.

Australia is next, at 3/1, with England in third, at 9/2.

South Africa, West Indies and Afghanistan are at 11/2, 6/1 and 18/1 respectively.

There is then a drop to Bangladesh at 66/1 and the US at 100/1.


Where can I watch it on TV?

England: Sky Sports

India: Star Sports Network and Disney+ Hotstar

Pakistan: PTV and ten sports

US and Canada: WillowTV

West Indies: ESPN Caribbean

Australia: Prime Video

New Zealand: Sky Sport NZ

South Africa, Uganda and Namibia: SuperSport


Middle East and North Africa: CricLife MAX and CricLife MAX2

Sri Lanka: Maharaja TV

Rest of the world:

Join The Cricketer’s brand new Whatsapp channel for the latest news, commentary and features – click here to join

Related topics

Please ensure all fields are completed before submitting your comment!