Coco Gauff vs. Caitlyn Clark, Nelly Korda and A’Ja Wilson at ESPYs


Coco Gauff is nominated for the ESPYs for the first time.

Gauff, who lives in Delray Beach, was nominated in the “Best Athlete, Female in Sports” category, along with former Iowa basketball star Caitlin Clark, golfer Nelly Korda and two-time nominee A’ja Wilson, a two-time WNBA champion Las Vegas Aces center. Gauff, Clark and Korda earned their first nominations.

Other nominees besides Gauff, who won the US Open last year, include Haleigh Bryant, CJ Stroud, Juju Watkins and Victor Wembanyama.

The 2024 ESPYs will be hosted by Serena Williams and broadcast live on ABC from Los Angeles on Thursday, July 11 at 8 p.m.

Fans can cast their votes at Voting closes at 5 p.m. ET on July 11, just before the show starts.

More: Coco Gauff lashes out at Florida Governor Ron DeSantis and calls on young people to vote

Another local who is eligible for an ESPY is Ravens quarterback Lamar Jackson. The former Boynton Beach HS standout is nominated in the “Best Play” category for catching his own pass against the Chiefs in the AFC Championship Game last January. Jackson is also nominated for “Best NFL Player” and will compete against Kansas City quarterback Patrick Mahomes, 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey and Browns defensive end Myles Garrett.

Other major categories of ESPYs:

  • Mahomes and Dodgers pitcher/DH Shohei Ohtani will look for their second win for “Best Athlete, Men’s Sports,” joining LeBron James, Lance Armstrong and Tiger Woods as the only athletes to win the category multiple times. Others in that category include Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid, who was last booed by Panthers fans, and golfer Scottie Scheffler. McDavid is also a candidate for “Best NHL Player” – and no member of the Stanley Cup champion Florida team is on that list.

  • Two-time World Series MVP Corey Seager and two-time American League MVP Ohtani will compete for the title of ‘Best MLB Player’. Ronald Acuña Jr. and Gerrit Cole complete this category.